The Port Hope Police Services Board (PHPSB) is pleased to announce that Dale Chipman has been named as a provincial appointee to the PHPSB. Dale was appointed to the Board by Order of Ontario Executive Council for a term of two years, effective March 12th, 2018.

She replaces Doug Prendergast who resigned from the Board in October 2017.

 Ms Chipman brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the Board. She has served as a board member of the Northumberland United Way, Northumberland Community Health Centre, and the Municipality of Port Hope’s Committee of Adjustment.

 Jeff Gilmer, Chair of the Board said, “Dale has many years of experience in municipal and provincial administration. With the impending election and passing of the new Police Services Act, I am pleased that we have a new member who is knowledgeable and experienced. The Board is very much looking forward to working with Dale.”

 The Port Hope Police Services Board is an autonomous, civilian body, established by provincial legislation to oversee the provision of policing services in the Municipality of Port Hope. It is a hybrid board in that it has responsibility for the governance of both the Northumberland Detachment of the OPP and the Port Hope Police Service.

 In accordance with Section 27 (6) of the Police Services Act, the Board is composed of five members including the Head of Council (or designate), one member of Council, one municipal representative who is neither a member of Council nor an employee of the Municipality, and two provincial representatives.

 submitted article